Phi Theta Kappa

Beta Nu Lambda Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa: By-Laws

Upcoming Activities

  • Leadership conferences coming up: dates to be announced.

For more information, contact  Kimbra Chirchirillo or Shirley Murphy.


Melissa Shank Named To All WV Academic Team

A group of people at the Capitol building in Charleston WV honor Melissa Shank, nominee to the WV-All Academic Team 2012.

WV Governor Earl Ray Tomblin, center, presented a certificate and medallion to Melissa Shank, 2nd from right, honoring her as Eastern WV Community and Technical College’s representative on the 2012 All-West Virginia Academic Team, and a nominee to the All-USA Community College Academic team.
From left: Kimbra Chirchirillo, co-advisor for Eastern’s Beta Nu Lamba Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK), Deb Backus, PTK co-advisor, WV First Lady Joanne Jaeger Tomblin, the Governor, Honoree Shank, and Eastern President Charles 'Chuck’ Terrell.

Back to Top

PTK, the international honor society for two-year colleges, together with two-year college presidents, and community college state associations, co-sponsor All-State Academic Team recognition programs in 35 states. The All-State Academic Team includes all students nominated to the All-USA Academic Team. Student scores in a national competition often determines ranking on the All-State team.


Phi Theta Kappa Inducts 14 At Spring Ceremony

An audience watches as 11 of the 14 new PTK members are inducted at the Spring 2012 ceremony.

Induction Rite Calls 14 Eastern Students To International Honor Society: The Beta Nu Lambda Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for two-year colleges, welcomed 14 students from Eastern WV Community and Technical College into membership March 23. The college held the induction ceremony at Moorefield’s South Branch Inn.
       In her keynote address, Shirley Murphy, who teaches several business courses at Eastern, told the new honorees, “Your induction into our chapter of Phi Theta Kappa speaks loudly as to your determination for achievement. You didn't quit, you didn’t give up, and you never stopped looking forward to the future.”
Photo From Left: Front: Stephanie Clouse, Joyce Combs, Brittney Craver, Paula Alt, Christina Eye
Middle: Brandon Hose, Serena Hoyt, Laura Mongold, Rachel Newcomer, Davida Quinn
Back: Tammy Rowe
Not shown: Fall 2011 inductee William E. Baldwin, and spring semester, 2012 honorees included Jane E. Bacilio, Christina M. Eye, and Sarah G. Landis.

Back to Top

For more on the event, read:

International Honor Society Inducts 15 Eastern Students


More information about Eastern's Beta Lamda Nu chapter of P.T.K. is Coming Soon!

Back to Top